Blog

My Top 3 Favorite Movies (and how they help with my mental health)

Hello! How is everything going for you guys? My life has been kind of crazy lately with work and family stuff (I currently work in retail, but I’m trying to find a job in journalism so I can actually use my degree).The other night, I didn’t actually get to sleep until about 7am, because a mouse decided to climb in my stove’s circuit board and it caught on fire! It was definitely scary (especially since my family has already experienced a late-night house fire once before, in 2013). Because of all of this insanity, I’ve been a little bit stressed and anxious lately. Whenever I start feeling like this, I like to get one of my favorite movies and some snacks and just take a two-hour break from the real world.
Movies are a magical way to escape from real-life problems and struggles for a little while. No matter the genre, the characters and stories help us to forget about our problems, or even help us look at them from a different perspective. Here’s a list of my five go-to movies when I’m feeling rough.

1. Star Wars: The Force Awakens 

– I know, this movie is just a little over a year old, and yes, I’ve heard the “if it’s not one of the original trilogy, you’re not a real fan!” argument, but I don’t really care what other people have to say about my Star Wars fandom. I have been a fan since I was four years old, and I love them all (yes, even the prequels), but TFA is the one that speaks to me the most. I fell in love with Finn and Rey almost immediately. Rey’s journey from lonely scavenger to a powerful Jedi is incredibly inspiring, and Finn’s drive to do what’s right and good reminds me that it’s better to be good to people than to blindly follow the rules. Seeing Leia (RIP Carrie, our incredible space princess) as a General rather than just “princess” was also incredible. Not that there’s anything wrong with being a princess, but Leia has always been dedicated to the Rebellion, and it was nice to see that she kept that drive and dedication. Also, the scene where Rey puts the old fighter helmet on never fails to make me smile.

2. Guardians of the Galaxy

– I love every MCU movie (except for The Incredible Hulk), but Guardians is my absolute favorite. This movie is a perfect distraction – it’s hilarious, has a great soundtrack, and Vin Diesel is kind of perfect as Groot. Despite the super-sad intro, the film as a whole is definitely one of the funniest I’ve ever seen. Also, I’m extremely thankful for for Guardians because it introduced me to Chris Pratt, which is why I started watching Parks and Recreation, which changed my life.

3. 10 Cloverfield Lane

– This movie. Oh my gosh, this movie. I will never be able to look at John Goodman the same way again. This movie had me on the edge of my seat the entire time, right up to the last scene. It’s not perfect, there are definitely a few plot holes and questions (like the whole storyline with his daughter), but I can overlook that stuff when everything else is done so brilliantly. I also really love how smart and quick-thinking Michelle is, and they do a good job of setting up her talents so that it makes sense when she’s able to make a hazmat suit out of a shower curtain. This movie is great when I’m feeling anxious because it takes that anxiety and channels it into something that I know is fiction

I could keep going with a list a mile long, but I have to limit myself to three for now so this post isn’t too long (honorable mentions include Ant Man, Iron Man, Annie (the 1999 Disney version), Now You See Me, Tangled, and Quest for Camelot). All of these movies are really important to me, and they have helped me through some difficult times.

If you haven’t seen them (including the honorable mentions listed above) I recommend you check them out! If you have seen them, what do you think about them? What are your three favorite movies? What helps you get through a rough time? Let me know in the comments!!

Leave a Reply

